Ask the Expert

Rangeland Extension Specialists Texas A&M University

Ecosystem Science & Management

Dr. Robert K. Lyons
Assoc. Department Head/Prof. and Extension Range Spec.

Contact Information

1619 Garner Filed Road, Uvalde, TX 78002 Phone: 830-278-9151 (office)
rk-lyons@tamu.edu

Primary Area Served

Statewide with primary responsibilities in Districts 10, 7, & 12 First point of contact for District 6

Area of Expertise

Brush management, grazing distribution, grazing behavior, stocking rate/carrying capacity

Dr. Megan Clayton
Associate Professor and Extension Range Specialist

Contact Information

10345 Highway 44, Corpus Christi, TX 78406 Phone: 361-265-9203 (office)
megan.clayton@ag.tamu.edu

Primary Area Served

Primary responsibility in Districts 11 & 12

Area of Expertise

Integrated livestock and wildlife management, habitat management, Use of herbicides, native restoration

James R. Jackson
Extension Program Specialist

Contact Information

1229 North U.S. Hwy 281 Stephenville, Texas 76401 Phone: 254-968-4144 (office)
JamesR.Jackson@ag.tamu.edu

Primary Area Served

Primary in Districts 8, 3 and 4 with certain counties in district 7

Area of Expertise

Range Management with focus on weed and brush control

Dr. Emi Kimura
Assistant Professor and Extension Argonomist

Contact Information

11708 Highway-70 S. Vernon, TX 76384 Phone: 940-552-9941 (office)
Emi.Kimura@ag.tamu.edu

Primary Area Served

Rolling Plains (District 3)

Area of Expertise

Brush control, and Range and pasture management

Dr. Barron S. Rector
Associate Professor and Extension Range Specialist

Contact Information

2138 TAMU, College Station, Texas 77843-2138 Horticulture/ Forestry Building; College Station, TX 77843-7101 Phone: 979-845-2755
(office)
b-rector@exchange.tamu.edu

Primary Area Served

Statewide with primary responsibility in Districts 4, 5, 8, 9 & 11

Area of Expertise

Range Plant Identification; Range Animal nutrition; 4-H and youth; range ecology; ecosystem management; range watershed management;
range seeding; grazing management; range monitoring; impact of humans on Texas rangelands; prescribed
burning; brush and weed control; Texas Cactus Moth Interception and Survey Program





Dr. Morgan Russell
Assistant Professor and Extension Range Specialist

Contact Information

San Angelo Research and Extension Center 7887 US HWY 87 North, San Angelo, Texas 76901 Phone: 325-657-7317 (office)
Morgan.Russell@ag.tamu.edu

Primary Area Served

Primary responsibilities in Districts 7, 6, 3, and 2

Area of Expertise

Brush management, chemical applications, prescribed burning, fire effects, grazing management

Dr. Tim Steffens
Assistant Professor West Texas A&M University and Extension Range Specialist

Contact Information

WTAMU Box 60998 Canyon, TX 79016-001 Phone: 806-651-2781 (office) 806-282-8004 (cell)
tsteffens@wtamu.edu

Primary Area Served

Primary responsibility in Districts, 1, parts of 2 and 3

Area of Expertise

Grazing management, Wildlife habitat management, watershed management, weed and brush management


Certified Professionals in Range Management

Society for Range Management

First Last Area of Expertise Email
Ruben Cantu Rangeland Habitat and Wildlife Management habitatadv@suddenlink.net
Tony Dean Bruch, Forage, and Grazing Management tonydean.tx1@gmail.com
Kent Ferguson Grazing and Habitat Management kdferguson2331@yahoo.com
Kason Haby Grazing Management, Brush Control, Prescribed Burning kwhaby@aggienetwork.com
Wayne Hanselka Grazingland Management, Brush Control wayne@trminternational.net
Ron Hilliard Grazingland Management ronald5648@netzero.com
Jenny Pluhar Grazing Management, Wetlands Issues jenny.pluhar@gmail.com
Larry Redmon Introduced Forages, Habitat Management l-redmon@tamu.edu
Randall Rosiere General Rangeland Management rosiere@tarleton.edu
Diane Sheguit Wetlands ladsarnold4@sbcglobal.net
Melony Sikes Stewardship; Riparian Management macs@wcc.net
Tim Steffens Grazing Management, Brush Conrol tsteffens@wtamu.edu
Jodie Stockett Weed and Brush Control jlstockett@dow.com